bee_york: (Red Dwarf)
[personal profile] bee_york
I finished watching the 4th season of Doctor Who last night. Uhhhhhhnnnnnnnrghhhh. WHY DID THE WRITING SUCK SO DAMN MUCH.



- First of all, I'm tired of the Daleks being used ON EVERY. SINGLE. SEASON. FINALE. Seriously, I don't want this series to make me tire of them, but that's EXACTLY where this is heading. They are so ridiculously overused.

- Bringing back Rose just to strand her back in her own universe? What the fuck was the point of that? REALLY.

- The exact same thing goes to say about the "2nd" Doctor, or the Doctor that's part Time Lord and part human with an essence of Donna, or whatever the hell we're supposed to call him.

- The exact same thing goes to say about Donna herself, ONLY TEN TIMES MORE. She was so awesome with all of the Doctor's thoughts. And allllllll that, everything she went through with the Doctor, being told she was the most important person in the world etc etc etc (let's not even touch THAT right now because omg I want to re-write that storyline myself, IT WAS SO BADLY DONE) it all had to be erased from her memory...what the everloving fuck.

- Bringing back ALL the companions/major characters from the past few seasons (Rose, Mickey, Jackie, Martha, even frickin' Sarah Jane, WTF) is such an annoying idea, since they really were there just for the sake of being there so that they could show them on the promos and make people want to watch. The writers try and justify that by giving Martha that stupid key or whatever, but it's obvious they could have given that to ANYONE.

- Actually, THIS should be first on the list: no new Doctor? You tease us with a regeneration and instead make up this stupid random plot device that the regeneration was absorbed by the hand and then Donna...wtf? The entire episode felt like it was made up as they went along. YES! Actually! That's *exactly* it--the whole thing feels like they improvised it on the spot.

Come to think of it, the whole season had that feeling. Worst season so far, BY far. But the ending really takes the cake for crap. I really, really thought it was going somewhere--and then it just went absolutely nowhere. LITERALLY. The whole story ends with everything basically being a giant RESET. Well, for the most part.

Also, the idea of writing an episode where the plot is "this is what COULD HAVE happened if the Doctor died" is stupid to begin with, but then to end it so the whole thing never really mattered anyway? OMFG. What were they thinking?!

SKJdlkjdlkajdlKJDLKjdlkJDLKJDLKJDLKJlkdjLKJKLdjll


ETA: Annnnd it's been brought to my attention on Facebook that I somehow skipped over an entire disc, which explains why I was never introduced to River Song. Well, that just furthers how shitty this season was--I skipped an entire disc (that's THREE EPISODES) and didn't even notice. Well, at least I have 3 more episodes to look forward to? o_O

Date: 2011-12-15 11:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lostsailors.livejournal.com
Ugh, Rose's storyline is seriously one of the stupidest ever. I like to refer to that whole storyline as "sloppy seconds" I mean because- really?

DONNA is the biggest fecking tragedy on the show. What a slap in the face of the viewers. By wiping her memory it's basically saying ALL THE ADVENTURES DIDN'T MATTER. Take away all her character growth. Everything we cared about. It was stupid. It was lazy.

I am glad to see you disliked all this stuff. I really liked the early RTD stuff, but by the end it was so over the top, maudlin, sloppy and stupid I couldn't even cope. I was very ready for a different show runner and starting anew.

Date: 2011-12-16 04:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bee-york.livejournal.com
OMG yay you agree! I'm so happy someone agrees with me...no one seems to find the season 4 finale as bad as I do. I don't understand how people can be OK with a giant reset--it's sloppy story-telling, and that's not even opinion, that's just flat-out *fact*: you don't end a story that way. :/

top, maudlin, sloppy and stupid

Haha, that's what I think of the Christmas specials, except for The Runaway Bride or whatever Donna's special is called. But that describes the Titanic episode SO WELL. It had a few really good moments, but I burst out LAUGHING when everyone started killing themselves. It was ridiculous and hilarious, and I know it wasn't supposed to be! (Also, what a waste of Kylie Minogue!)

Date: 2011-12-16 04:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bee-york.livejournal.com
Whoops, forgot to copy/paste "over the" in your quote. XD

Profile

bee_york: (Default)
bee_york

April 2012

S M T W T F S
12 3 4 567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios