What are you addicted to? C'mon! I'm curious!
To simplify, for this post I will define addiction as something you can't stop doing, even if you don't enjoy doing it.
For example, I have become addicted to Thai Express. More specifically, their Pad Thai. How am I addicted? Usually if I order in or take-out food, no matter how much I looooove it (say for example, Chinese food, pizza, poutine...) I will stop eating when I'm full (or sometimes a little more than full, lol) and put the rest in the fridge and have glorious leftovers for afterwards.
I cannot do this with Pad Thai from Thai Express. I've tried and failed miserably. I will eat the entire fucking box (which for me is enough food for three sittings, their portions are insane) and not stop, no matter how sick I feel. I'll usually feel so full that my stomach will start to hurt a little less than halfway through the box. You'd think that would be a clear message to stop eating, but I seriously can't. I'll eat the entire thing, and I won't even enjoy it after awhile because I'll feel so fucking ill. If I try and put it away in the fridge, I can't concentrate on anything else because I'll be thinking of is the Pad Thai and how much I want it, no matter how full I am.
Yesterday, I briefly considered picking some up and the back of my neck and palms got all prickly and sweaty. I can't make this shit up. This doesn't happen to me with any other food. Just Pad Thai, and specifically the Pad Thai from Thai Express.
Mind you, I had a similar addiction to Reese's Pieces when I was 16. (Obviously, this was before I was allergic to peanuts. Looooong before.) I'd get such bad cravings for them I'd feel dizzy. So odd!
I am also addicted to coffee and Facebook. I love coffee and enjoy my addiction actually, but Facebook? I fucking hate it. But I can't stop going there CONSTANTLY. Now that is true addiction!
To simplify, for this post I will define addiction as something you can't stop doing, even if you don't enjoy doing it.
For example, I have become addicted to Thai Express. More specifically, their Pad Thai. How am I addicted? Usually if I order in or take-out food, no matter how much I looooove it (say for example, Chinese food, pizza, poutine...) I will stop eating when I'm full (or sometimes a little more than full, lol) and put the rest in the fridge and have glorious leftovers for afterwards.
I cannot do this with Pad Thai from Thai Express. I've tried and failed miserably. I will eat the entire fucking box (which for me is enough food for three sittings, their portions are insane) and not stop, no matter how sick I feel. I'll usually feel so full that my stomach will start to hurt a little less than halfway through the box. You'd think that would be a clear message to stop eating, but I seriously can't. I'll eat the entire thing, and I won't even enjoy it after awhile because I'll feel so fucking ill. If I try and put it away in the fridge, I can't concentrate on anything else because I'll be thinking of is the Pad Thai and how much I want it, no matter how full I am.
Yesterday, I briefly considered picking some up and the back of my neck and palms got all prickly and sweaty. I can't make this shit up. This doesn't happen to me with any other food. Just Pad Thai, and specifically the Pad Thai from Thai Express.
Mind you, I had a similar addiction to Reese's Pieces when I was 16. (Obviously, this was before I was allergic to peanuts. Looooong before.) I'd get such bad cravings for them I'd feel dizzy. So odd!
I am also addicted to coffee and Facebook. I love coffee and enjoy my addiction actually, but Facebook? I fucking hate it. But I can't stop going there CONSTANTLY. Now that is true addiction!
no subject
Date: 2011-06-22 08:00 pm (UTC)Mini Eggs, Pizza Pops and Kraft Dinner - those are my junk food addictions. The first two, I pretty much have under control. I know that I just can't have them in the apartment. If they're not in the apartment, it's fine. And I am able to walk past them both in the grocery store. KD on the other hand... it's still an issue for me. When I walk past it in the grocery store, I instinctively reach for a box or two, and it's not until I am taking the last few bites of a serving of the stuff that my mind remembers what I felt like the last time I devoured an entire box.
It's like that Seinfeld bit about how there's Night Jerry, and Morning Jerry, and Night Jerry always fucks Morning Jerry over. For me, there's Post-KD Josh, and Regular Josh, and Regular Josh always, always, always fucks over Post-KD Josh by buying the stuff and cooking it, and taking those first three or four delicious, delicious bites.
no subject
Date: 2011-06-24 12:46 pm (UTC)When I read this, my jaw dropped in anger and I *actually* thought, "how DARE you, wasting PAD THAI like that!!!!"
YOU SEE HOW ADDICTED I AM??!?!?
I appreciate you're not being able to have certain foods in the apartment or else you won't be able to control yourself. Sounds like me! XD
no subject
Date: 2011-06-23 06:13 pm (UTC)Fucking take out. Specifically scores chicken tenders with honey mustard. I don't like to pay with visa so I try not to have cash on me when I know I have the day off. Because if I have 15 dollars I will buy some god damn chicken tenders. They're so bad for you and so delicious.
I have a bunch of obsessive/compulsive behaviors too but I feel like this post isn't about that.
no subject
Date: 2011-06-24 12:52 pm (UTC)I go there all the time now (I live across the street from one), but it's been 7 years since I worked there.
And yeah, this post isn't about OCD things. I could easily make another post about that, but it wouldn't be lighthearted or funny at all! I'll save that one for when I'm in a shitty mood or when my OCD is really bad or something. ;)
no subject
Date: 2011-06-23 11:08 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-06-24 12:52 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-06-29 06:52 pm (UTC)1- Cigarettes. That's the easy, boring one, lol. Although to be fair, maybe I shouldn't count this one - I last had a smoke at around 10:30 this morning, and it's now 2:15 PM, so it's not like I smoked an entire pack.
2- Wavy Lays. I cannot control myself around those. I will not stop until the bag is empty, even if I'm not hungry. But they are so good...
3- My Blackberry. Between being able to check my e-mails, Facebook, and text messages, I am addicted to the thing. It is with me all the time, and I am actually wondering how I lived without it before. It shames me.
4- React 5 gum. I go through close to a pack a day, and it's the reason I have jaw issues. But I can't stop. I think it has something to do with my fear of having halitosis.
I know there are loads more, but that will do for now. ;-)
no subject
Date: 2011-06-30 04:43 pm (UTC)Mmmmmmmmm at the Wavy Lays though. Chips are ridiculously addictive. Sometimes Mike will buy a bag when we go grocery shopping and I'm secretly kind of sad, because I know I'll eat them whether I'm hungry or not...I just can't discipline myself when I know there's chips in the vicinity! I could swear they put crack in chips...it just doesn't make sense....mmmm now I'm thinking of all-dressed chips...or Miss Vickie's salt & vinegar....AHHHHH!!! lol