bee_york: (Red Dwarf)
[personal profile] bee_york
Tomorrow it'll be ten years to the day that one of my very good friends Amber and her friend Dahlia were mowed down by a drunk driver and left for dead in the middle of the street. I can't believe it's ten years! Insert cliche of "it feels so recently" blah blah...but it DOES. Ugh. Last night Amber's dad was interviewed on the news and they did a whole piece on the event, and talked about MADD. He works for MADD now and does all kinds of work with that...seriously, you have no idea how much he's done in the past 10 years, so good for him. He organized a walk that they did yesterday and I saw the invite on Facebook about 100 times but I could NOT go, it would be much too sad. Watching it on TV was bad enough. I didn't think it would be so bad to watch a little piece on it, but it was. They had to show the clip of the ambulance at the accident site, with all the contents of their purses strewn about the street, a sweater, their shoes...uggghh I HATE that they showed that! :/ I always hated when they showed it 10 years ago, it's still just as awful a decade later. Amber would have been 29 and Dahlia would have been 30. I was never good friends with Dahlia but she was SUPER-sweet, and I met my ex through her. Amber's the one I really miss though. We were pretty close for the short time I went to Riverdale. She was my partner in mischief, for lack of better words. XD
Blaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh. I miss her.

I can't believe people drive drunk. How fucking stupid and pathetic do you need to be?! I've done a lot of dumb things in my life, but NEVER have I ever stooped THAT low. (Not that I can drive, but if I COULD, I would still NEVER do that.) Right now I can't stop thinking about something one of my friends told me about awhile back...a party that I was invited to last year that I couldn't attend. Apparently a bunch of people were drunk...and drove to the next destination of the party anyway. I was SO LIVID when he told me that, and now I'm livid all over again just thinking of it. How can people be so fucking selfish and stupid?!?! I am SO GLAD that I wasn't at that party, because if I was, I WOULD HAVE STARTED SOME SHIT, YOU HAVE NO IDEA. I WOULD HAVE THROWN A FUCKING FIT. No WAY would I have been OK with that. Fucking idiots. Fucking stupid, stupid, stupid drunken idiots. What in the flying fuck is wrong with people? OMG. They could have killed someone.
Needless to say, I have ZERO tolerance or sympathy for anyone who drives drunk, so it made me beyond angry to hear this...and I forgot about it, but because it's now the 10 year anniversary that my friends were murdered by a DRUNK DRIVER and last night I watched a piece about said friends and the dangers of DRUNK DRIVING, I can't get it out of my head right now and arghhhh it really, REALLY makes me want to smack a bitch. >:[

Anyway, argh. Just had to rant. I'm sad and angry.
In short: if you drive drunk, FUCK YOU. Get your act together, grow the FUCK UP, and be more civil, less selfish, and CAREFUL next time, because if I ever find out about it, I swear I'll tell you off for like 10 days straight.

And Amber: I MISS YOU. :(


Uggghhh I have a day of packing to do. And movers to call. I woke up MUCH too late today, and I'm really starting to regret agreeing to sub freakin' kindergaten tomorrow (though I'm sure that feeling will change when I get my following paycheque, heh). At least I can use my force majeur next week and take Wednesday off. Blaaaa so much work to do and I am NOT IN THE MOOD. :(

Date: 2010-04-19 04:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lostsailors.livejournal.com
This is about my stance on drunk drinking. No tolerance. No sympathy. I want to kill people who talk about being tipsy "but it was ok." No, no it wasn't. I also can't stand officers who let tipsy kids of the hook. Go die in a

FI.

ER.

As an interesting story, my home state practically runs on prohibition and about... 2 years ago? My sister was leaving a party and thought she was too drunk to drive. So she called for a ride to come and get her. Since she was a girl and the middle of the night, she got into her car to wait for the ride. Well, apparently! You don't need to be moving nor even start your engine, to get a DUI, because that's what she got just sitting there, even though her ride showed up during the arrest proving her story.

Part of me is super glad they are on-top of it like this, other times I get angry because they are focused on people who aren't even driving when people like the one that murdered your friends actually get out on the road. WHY wasn't anyone there to catch that person?

L.A. is also pretty good about tracking this stuff. During the holidays they have random DUI roadblocks so everyone has to just go through checks to make sure no one was drinking at parties. Again, annoying but you read about stories about your friends and you're like, no. It's a good thing.

But yeah, either way, drunk driving pisses me off. It's so avoidable.

Date: 2010-04-21 09:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bee-york.livejournal.com
I guess the law is a bit different over here. I called the cops on a drunk driver once and they told me they couldn't arrest him because when they found him, his car was parked. Come to think of it though, I can't remember if he was in the car still when they found him. I think he was, which is what I found so weird about it, but it's been awhile so I could be wrong.

That sucks about your sister though. :/ I mean, she was obviously doing the right thing, and even had witnesses to back her up...ugh. That's not cool. I hope she didn't get a criminal record from it or anything. :/

Date: 2010-04-19 09:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lucyskydiamonds.livejournal.com
I'm sorry about your friend. It might be a long time already, but that doesn't make it OK. It's such a revolting act that I have a hard time respecting someone who has gotten a genuine DUI.

10 years ago, I was too drunk to drive up to my friend's country home, so I had my mom drive me there. In a cruel twist of fate, we got smacked by a drunk driver and he hit the passenger seat full force, where I was sitting, putting me into a coma for 48 hours. Since I lived through it with only periodic migraines and long lasting back problems, I consider myself lucky. It also happened at an age when I was learning to drive, and greatly shaped my opinions on both drinking and driving.

Date: 2010-04-21 09:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bee-york.livejournal.com
That's fucking terrifying (not that you need me to tell you that)! I'm so glad you were OK in the end. But omg, a 48-hour coma! Do you remember anything from being in the coma? Or the accident itself?

Date: 2010-04-21 11:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lucyskydiamonds.livejournal.com
No and no. And there's a substantial gap in my memory for a month or so before then.

Date: 2010-04-22 02:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bee-york.livejournal.com
Yikes. :/

Profile

bee_york: (Default)
bee_york

April 2012

S M T W T F S
12 3 4 567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:22 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios